Churches and places of worship
Church of St. John the Baptist
The church was originally built in the 16th century. It was expanded and rebuilt in the 18th and 19th centuries. The latest repairs were done after World War II bombings. The façade is topped by a triangular pediment, with pyramid-shaped spires of stone. A marble bas-relief that depicts the Virgin and Child is in the middle of the tympanum. Inside are some 18th century altars of polychrome marble that come from churches that were demolished during the 1700s suppressions. (Via Giacomo Matteotti – Pincara)
Oratory of St. Anthony of Padua
This oratory was built in the 17th century by nobleman Giobatta Bernardi. The polychrome marble altar has a 17th century pall that depicts St. Anthony with a child and a wooden cross. (Via Ghirardini, 3650 – Cà Bernarda)
Oratory of St. Francis
It was built by the Roncali family in the early 18th century. It was renovated recently.
(Via Roncala – Roncala)
Museum of the Ancient Mantovani Distilleries Company (Antiche Distillerie Mantovani)
The company museum for the Ancient Mantovani Distilleries, “The future of memory”, was opened in November of 2004. It was built inside the business, with exhibits that commemorate its history throughout 6 generations. The project is the result of passionate research on the history, legends, and traditions related to liquors and distillates. Both objects that belong to the company and objects that were found during the aforementioned research are showcased. The museum’s exhibits allow visitors to explore and learn about the artisanal production of liquors and distillates. The museum begins with the legends and the traditions of this ancient trade, then it explains the process of production. Visitors are actively involved as they use their senses: for instance, they can recognize the smell of the ingredients (herbs, spices, essential oils, and fruit) and evaluate the product’s characteristics.
Antiche Distillerie Mantovani
Via Matteotti, 1001
45020 PINCARA (ROVIGO)
Tel. +39 0425 754342 – Fax +39 0425 742428
Visits may be reserved by calling +39 0425 754342
Places of interest
It was built in the 18th century. It used to be one of homes of the Dolfin, a noble Venetian family.
(Via Giacomo Matteotti, 319 – Pincara)
Its name comes from Guglielmo Piancro of Parma, a counselor of Duke Ercole of Este. In 1471 he was vested with this land; it became a fiefdom with a decree of April 10th 1473. It was part of the lands claimed by Venice in 1482. In 1508 it was fought for in the war against the Cambrai League. In 1515 rule of the Republic of Venice was established. The Dolfin family was very important in this time, with its architectural contributions. In 1797, with the decline of the Venetian Republic, the area was occupied by the French, then by the Austrians. In 1866 it was annexed to the Kingdom of Italy. It was stricken by several disasters: in 1630 the plague decimated the population; the nearbyrivers (Po, Adige, Tartaro, Mincio) flooded it many times. The latest one was in 1951. The parish church is dedicated to St. John the Baptist. It was built in 1520 by Benedetto Dolfin.